The winners of the “37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition” have been announced

The winners of this year’s “Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition”, which brings together cartoons and cartoonists from all corners of the world at a platform of free thought have been announced. The cartoon by Reynerio Tamayo (Cuba) which describes the extinction of the Amazons was awarded the first prize.

“The Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition”, organized by Aydın Doğan Foundation for the 37th time, aims to spread inter-communal reconciliation, love, friendship, freedom and peace through caricatures. This year's winners were determined at the jury meeting held online for the first time due to the pandemic.

The 37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, referred to by the authorities as the "number one cartoon competition across the world", where works that shed light on the world's agenda compete, 930 artists from 83 countries participated with approximately 4,500 cartoons, with independent themes. 

This year there were 11 members in the Jury, whereby world-renowned, well-known cartoonists and artists were members.  Anita Kunz from Canada was the president of the Jury, and the other distinguished members were Ercan Akyol (Turkey), Latif Demirci (Turkey), Selçuk Demirel (Turkey), Shahrokh Heidari (Iran), Moacir Knorr Gutterres (Brazil), Piyale Madra (Turkey), Peter Nieuwendijk (Netherlands), Tan Oral (Turkey), Cristina Sampaio (Portugal) and Yuko Shimizu (Japan).

Special Award for “Empowered Girls, Empowered Futures” 

During the competition held by the Aydın Doğan Foundation, emphasizing in all its efforts the education and empowerment of girls and gender equality, the Special Award “Empowered Girls, Empowered Futures” was given this year to the cartoon by Ömer Çam from Turkey.

The Winners of the 37th Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition

The Jury gave the first place award to Reynerio Tamayo (Cuba), second place award to Mahmood Nazari (Iran) and the third place award to Mojtaba Heidarpanah (Iran).

Moreover the Jury also gave Achievement Awards to Hamed Mortazavi Alavi (Iran), Borislav Stankovic (Serbia) and Toso Borkovic (Serbia).

The artists who won the first prize and the special prize in the competition are awarded  8,000 USD each, the second prize winner USD 3,500 and the third prize winner is awarded with 1,500 USD. The three artists who won the Achievement Award will receive 500 US dollars each.

The awards for all the winners and the Award Statuettes symbolizing the competition will be given at the ceremony to be held in Istanbul in November, depending on the conditions of the pandemic.