Cartoon Oscars Find Their Owners

The winners of the "Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition", the 33rd of which was held by Aydın Doğan Foundation this year, were awarded their prizes during the ceremony held on November 22.

The Award Ceremony of the 33rd of the Aydın Doğan International Cartoon Competition, held by the Aydın Doğan Foundation every year, bringing cartoonists from all over the world together, took place at the Trump Culture and Performance Center, and was presented by Kanal D Anchorwoman Gözde Atasoy. The Aydın Doğan Foundation Deputy Honorary Chairwoman Sema Doğan, and Aydın Doğan Yalçındağ also attended the opening ceremony, and the participating individuals included Sedat Ergin, Doğan Hızlan, Fatih Çekirge, Kanat Atkaya, and Fikret Ercan from the Hürriyet Newspaper; Sinan Çakmak from Atlas Magazine; Erdoğan Aktaş, and Ferhat Boratav from CNN Turk; Süleyman Sarılar from Kanal D; Pelin Özkan from the MediaCat Magazine, and Yaman Törüner from the Milliyet Newspaper.

The first prize winner, among the 752 artists from 68 countries, with 2521 cartoons, was Marco De Angelis from Italy. The second prize winner in the competition was Brazilian 'Cau' Claudio Antonio Gomes; and the third prize was awarded to Doğan Arslan from Turkey.

Emrah Arıkan from Turkey was awarded the Special Prize given this year for the first time in the category “Empowered Girls, Empowered World” as a reflection of the Foundation's efforts on girls' education, empowerment, and gender equality.

The Jury also gave Success Awards for the following artists: Oktay Bingöl (Turkey), Vitaly Bondar (Belarus), Evzen David (Czech Republic), Hicabi Demirci (Turkey), ‘Feggo’ Felipe Galindo (USA), Rodrigo Machado da Rosa (Brazil), Raimundo Rucke Santos Souza (Brazil), Arif Sutristanto (Indonesia), Jugoslav Vlahovic (Serbia), Kürşat Zaman (Turkey), Nahid Zamani (Iran), and Zygmunt Zaradkiewicz (Poland).

The award winning cartoons will start to be exhibited at the Kadıköy Municipality Caddebostan Cultural Center, as of November 23, Wednesday.